DSC07956 (1024x450)

My friend, Mary, invited me to the 43rd Street Festival of the Arts about 3 years ago for the first time.  I drive to her home and then her husband, Mary, Farley her doggie and I walk up to the festival.  The art is awesome and there are usually over 70 vendors.  The work takes my breath away.

The festival is a benefit for Freedom House, so I am more than happy to drop $10 on some raffle tickets for a good cause.  The first year I went they had a single box for the entries so I put them in and won a $94 print.  The next year they had 3 boxes and I split my entries up and won nothing. 

DSC07958 (1024x616)This year we decided if there was more than one box we would only put them into one.  And it worked!

Clifford Earl makes the most magical creations and my friend Mary covets his bird sculptures.  So imagine my surprise when I received the call that I had won a Whale created by Clifford Earl!  He is valued at $247!

He is 42ā€ long and is solid wood with the spout, fins and tail made of metal.  On the back is Earl in large letters and ā€˜05 for the year it was created. 

I have decided to name him Earl after his creator.  I have been holding him up to my various walls in the apartment to see where he fits.  So far, he fits best on my couch!  Soon he will have a permanent home, promise!

