It felt like a million degrees outside on Saturday, so I decided to stay in and do some crafting.  I had found a Mexican matching game that had the best largish square tiles that I thought would be perfect to alter to hang onto a LONG chain. 

DSC07702 (845x1024)

I started with the text from the pages of a 1920s spelling primer.  I covered the entire tile and sides, too.  I then inked the edges to age it a bit more.  I then rubber stamped the image of a very old typewriter.  On the other side I added a bit of lace.

DSC07703 (1024x919)

I used Mod Podge to seal it all down. 

I went to Friday for the Arts on Friday evening and bought a necklace from my artsy buddy, Rose.  She put it in the prettiest little bag and I saved it.  I thought it would be perfect to cover another tile.

DSC07704 (1024x914)

I again covered the entire tile and then added a bit of lace and a vintage flower button.  I left the back as it as I liked the design.

DSC07705 (1024x961)

I really like them both.  I will test them out later this week on a really long chain. 

What have you made from your trash lately? 

