I was out thrifting a while back and came across the ugliest bangle I think I have ever seen.  It was made from Sculpey and had a Bible verse stamped into it.  Now, I have nothing at all to say about the Bible and its verses, but take my word for it this was a U G L Y bangle!

DSC07509 (1024x1009)I then had the brainstorm to cover it with some book pages.  I tore the pages into strips and then adhered them with Mod Podge. 

I covered the entire bangle and then coated the top with another coat or two of Mod Podge.  Then I let it sit for a week or two while I decided what else.  I thought buttons…No!  Vintage jewelry bits? 

Sunday I stopped into the Midlothian Antique mall and bought a baggie of vintage shoe clips in various stages of need and dug out the perfect complement to complete my bangle. 

DSC07510 (1024x722)

Do you agree?  it has a bit of tarnish, some serious rhinestone action and it hangs just a bit over the sides.  I kine of wish there was a second in the baggie, but there was not.  I think that the single accent is just the ticket.

What do you think? 

Have you made anything with jewelry bits lately?

I have been tearing and braiding strips of fabric lately.  I have also been checking out Pinterest, Flickr and Google Image Finder for inspiration.  I have some thoughts percolating, but time will tell. 

