background

This week’s random act of kindness was to give one of my winter coats that I have collected, but never wear very much at all to a lady collecting change at the street corner near my office. 

I don’t often believe the people that collect chain at street corners.  I look at their spotless white tennis shoes, their clean clothes and just doubt them. 

This lady, though, has been on my mind since I saw her a week ago.  There was something about her eyes that were so empty.  I put the coat in my car and then looked for her each day as I went to lunch.  I finally saw her and then rolled down the window and fed the coat to her.  She thanked me and I went on my way as the light turned green. 

I have seen her a few more times since then collecting change on the street wearing the coat.  It makes me happy I helped!

