DSC06913 (852x1024)I have had spools on the brain lately.  For several months, I have been collecting wooden spools to use in jewelry makings, but until this past weekend, I had not done anything with them.

I took a vintage spool with some lovely wood coloring and Mod Podged layers of pattern pieces to it. 

I tried to pick the pieces with text and sewing instructions on them.  Then I added a vintage pic of a Victorian lady that I printed onto typewriter paper.  The first one smeared terribly, so I slowly built up the layers on the DSC06912 (937x1024)second pic. 

I like how the pic is a bit distressed which kind of fits the spool and the “feel” of the design.  I also used Mod Podge to glue town the ric rac.  The ric rac I used is from an estate sale that had some water damage to it so tea stained it a bit. 

On the top of the spool, I affixed a tissue sheet that I stamped using a Tim Holtz stamp.  As I was coating the stamped image it smeared, so I wiped it off and then re-stamped it onto the top of the spool.  I also stamped it on the bottom of DSC06914 (1024x888)the spool. 

I am now thinking on how to finish it.  I know I will hang it from some vintage seam binding, but I also want to hang some danglies from it.  Maybe some sewing items, maybe some beads, I am not sure.  It will be a necklace when I am finished, but for now I need to think it through a bit more.

What do you think? 

