The Richmond area was home to the annual J. Crew regional warehouse sale.  It is held at the Old Borders Books building on Broad street until the 22nd of January.  In digging through the accessory bins, I found a journal.  It had a brushed gold cover and was filled with blank pages and possibility!

DSC06862 (867x1024)

I started by Mod Podging down some French dictionary pages with some of my favorite images (sewing and eyeglasses).  The pages were very white as the very large dictionary is kind of new.  I sponged on some tan colored acrylic paints and then watered it down a bit to make it a wash.  Then on top of that I added a terra cotta color and then watered it down a bit.  After the color was as I wanted it, I used rubber stamps for the images.  I stamped the images using brown ink onto sewing pattern tissue and then adhered it to the book with more Mod Podge

The card in the bottom right is from an DSC06863 (834x1024)Operation game that I thought fit the cover.  I inked the edges of the card and the top to age it a bit.  I used Mod Podge to seal it to the cover. 

Lastly, I used the same process to stamp the image for the back cover. 

I then sealed the entire journal with another layer of Mod Podge. 

I love it antique look and funky images.  How about you?

