DSC06733 (1024x768)

I spied with my little eye a very large plastic barrel full of game pieces and printer’s blocks on the bottom shelf and behind the counter of my local thrift shop. 

I asked the clerk to pick it up for me as I was not sure of the weight and, since it was below my waist, I like to take care when lifting in light of my recent back drama.

He put it up on the counter all two feet of the plastic barrel.  It is one of those barrels that stores have hard pretzels they sell individually within.  On the DSC06734 (1024x716)bottom was about 4” of American Bricks (which are wooden, made by Halsam and pre-date legos).  On top of that was two large baggies filled with wooden dominos and on top of those were two baggies filled with wooden checkers.  There were also two vintage plastic checker games in their original packages.  And on top of that about 6-8” of printers blocks of all shapes and sizes.  The bag they are packed into is a gallon size ziploc bag. 

DSC06735 (1024x831)On the top of the barrel was a price of $30.  They told me that they needed to call someone as that was the price the donator wrote on it and that is not the price they are selling it for.  I thought that as it was not the stickers they use and they price differently.  They called the Pastor (it is a church owned thrift shop) and he had no idea what they were talking about.  They said it was marked $30 and he said give it to her for the $30!  One of the gentleman said I think you should charge $50, but the pastor let me have it for $30.  I gave them $30 and ran! 

As I was leaving the clerk said, “I don’t want to be here tomorrow when Mrs. Pastor realizes he let it go for $30!”  Apparently, they were talking about it earlier in the day and one of the prices being tossed around was $120!  It was well worth that as the printers blocks sell for from $4-15 per block and there were over 30! 

I was not planning to stop at all, but there was an accident at the end of my street and I had to go through their parking lot to turn on my street!  Perhaps it was divine intervention or perhaps, just the thrifty gods looking out for me!

