background

This week’s random act is to tell you about the receiving end of a random act of kindness. 

During the summer, my car broke down in downtown Richmond at 4 p.m. on a Saturday.  I had just visited Quirk and was leaving.  I went out and it was deader than a doornail.  It was also one of the hottest days in the month!

I walked back to Quirk and a nice lady helped me.  She was so kind and came out to check on me and pass messages to me as I stood in the heat and waited for the tow truck.  I waited over an hour for that truck!

The tow truck arrived and towed me to a local Merchants that was still open.  I let them know I felt it was the battery as I had it in the car for six years.  In fact it was, they swapped it out and I was on my way. 

The lady was so nice to help me and really went out of her way for me.  Quirk was busy that day, very busy, and it was stinkin’ hot, too.  In spite of all that she helped me. 

I went by there a week later and left a scrabble tile pendant for her and a note to explain what it was for.  Tonight, I was at a shop at a local mall and the girl waiting on me asked if I ever shopped at Quirk.  I said “yes” and then she asked if I was the lady that left her the scrabble pendant.  I said yes, and she told me how much she loved it.  How cool is that!

Thank you takes so little time and yet are so very appreciated!  It is nice to be on the other side of a random act and to get to know how much it is appreciated.  Kindness, pass it on!

