DSC06676 (1003x1024)

Sometimes an idea is set before you even get started and other times it evolves from your idea as you go along.  This is one such project. 

I joined the Altered Dominos & Other Game Pieces group’s Christmas ornament swap.  It was to create an ornament with the theme of “What Christmas means to me?”  To me Christmas has always been about angels.  I love that scene at the end of It’s a Wonderful Life where Zuzu tells her Dad that “Everytime a bell rings an angel gets its wings.”  I cannot hear a bell without thinking of that. 

I was going to make snowflakes with the center as an altered poker chip with an angel image.  When I finished the snowflake it looked a little blah, so I added the fringy light covers I found at DSC06677 (1024x732)the Goodwill outlet to the back.  Then that looked a bit too blah at the back so I glued in a big pearl.  Now it has some zing from the front and from the back. 

I also added some clear beads to the snowflakes where the joints connect to give it a bit more sparkle.  You cannot see it on the angel image, but there is a wash of glitter over top. 

Now I have to figure out how to package them so they arrive in one piece.  Especially the one travelling to the UK.  Wish me luck!

