DSC06611 (851x1024)

Sadly these will be my last ATCs for Kate’s Birthday swap.  She has decided to take a break and while I completely understand her why, I will nonetheless miss the beauty in my mailbox in April.  Oh well, it was awesome while it lasted!

I had the inspiration hit me as I was driving down a road over the weekend.  It is a road I take for a shortcut and it is shrouded in trees and in the fall it is awash with color and leaves. 

After a trip to Quilting Adventures to find the wool felt squares it came together in my head.  I needle felted the pieces together and then punched the leaves from a couple of vintage books.  One white and one with some yellowing to the pages.  I didn’t want a lot of color, but preferred it a bit stark. 

I like how it came out and hope the birthday girls will, too.  I thought I needed to make 4 so there will be one in my Flickr photos and is available for trade if you are an ATC maker and interested in a trade. 

And here is one of my favorite poems when I was a little girl:

Trees

by Joyce Kilmer

I THINK that I shall never see

A poem lovely as a tree.

 

A tree whose hungry mouth is prest
Against the sweet earth’s flowing breast;

A tree that looks at God all day,
And lifts her leafy arms to pray;

A tree that may in summer wear

A nest of robins in her hair;

Upon whose bosom snow has lain;

Who intimately lives with rain.
 

Poems are made by fools like me,

But only God can make a tree.

