DSC06383 (1024x667)

I love Edgar Allen Poe!  I have lived in a few cities in my life and had the good fortune to live in two cities that Edgar frequented, Baltimore and Richmond.  Both are lovely cities with lots of history.

A couple of years ago I made a couple of Edgar brooches.  I decided to do it up again and this time to make them a bit more elaborate.  I added some clear microbeads, placed his pic on an oval wood disc to make it more cameo-like, and added bits of lace. 

DSC06384 (1024x712)All of the fabrics came from this lady.  Vicki, hand dyes and paints fabrics.  She and I worked out a deal that she saves me her scraps and I keep her in vintage napkins for dyeing.  Good arrangement, no?  Every bag I receive from Vicki is like Christmas as I never know what will be inside.  Be sure to check out her Etsy shop! 

The brooches I made for the craft show the weekend of the 22nd.  It will be in the Forest Hill area on 43rd Street in front of the 43rd Street Gallery.  It benefits a local church school. 

I love playing around with Edgar!  He tells the best stories!

