Now get your minds out of the gutter! :O)

DSC06300 (1024x768)

Making Kumihimo cords is very mindless and repetitive work.  You can also do it in very low light situations.  So while the sun was up I picked out some yarns and set about making a cord.  Once you get it started you can kind of “feel” your way along.  One from the top to the bottom, once from the bottom to the top, rotate 45 degrees and start again…top…bottom…45 degrees…and on and on.  I make the cords until i run out of the yarns.  My cords are always longer then I need, but then I save them for when I need one. 

I make another bracelet, a necklace, a holder for a charm, whatever.  It is the gluing and the clasp that takes the real skill! 

 

DSC06301 (1024x768)The charm is made using a balsam wood circle disc that I painted, and added a piece of scrapbook paper that I stamped a bike image onto.  On the other side I punched another paper with a rosette punch and affixed it on top.  I added some beads, a lobster claw clasp, and it is finished!

I really like how this one turned out.  It is awesome!

