DSC05387 (782x1024)

I hosted a swap on the Flickr Altered Dominos and Other Game Pieces group.  It was an ornament swap.  I went to the Goodwill several weeks back before all the back drama started and found a set of Bendominos.  I had no idea what I was going to make for the ornaments before I saw the bendominos.  Then it hit me!  Angels with the bendominos as wings. 

The rules for the swap was that you had to use at least one game piece in the creation of your ornament.  I used two, the bendomino and a checker to hold the face image.  I painted the checker and the bendomino with gold acrylic paint so it looked angelic.  Then I added some gold stickles to the wing to give it a bit of sparkle.  The face is a vintage image of a child that I thought looked a bit mischievous.  I like kiddies with a bit of spirit.  I used mod podge to adhere the face image and to coat the image on the top before the sealer.  Since the sealer is a bit watery the mod podge keeps the images from smearing. 

 

I used wire to create the holder and a bit of jazz for the bottom along with a couple of clear beads and gave her a pipe cleaner halo to finish it off.  Then I was on to the packaging for the swap. 

DSC05390 (1024x506)

I found this quote on-line:

“God not only sends special angels into our lives, but sometimes He even sends them back again if we forget to take notes the first time.” ~Eileen Elias Freeman

I found a typewriter font on-line at freefonts.com and thought it looked perfect when placed on typing paper I thrifted.  I cut strips from a brown paper bag and glued the quote onto it.

DSC05391 (1024x778)

I found some orphan patterns at the Goodwill outlet that had lost their packaging and used this to wrap the angels.  I then wrapped the quote around the angel and tied it with some blue string.  I love it when swap partners make the swap items like a present and make it special. 

DSC05386 (1024x743)

I thought I would leave you with a pic of the girls all together.  Aren’t they sweet?

