DSC04036 (741x1024)

On any given day at the Goodwill outlet you never know what you might find.  Some days it is all crap and some days you score!  I have been on a lucky streak lately as I have been finding a lot of game pieces.  This past trip netted me a lot of craft items, but in the bin of stuffed animals I spied the fabric and knew it might be gold in that bin!

I pulled him out and instantly remembered him.  Do you?  He was one of the first educational toys.  He was popular when I was a little girl.  He was used to teach little kids how to button, zip, snap, and buckle their clothes.  He was also a help with tying shoes.  He was also before we knew about choking hazards. 

His name is Li’l Buttons and he was created by the Dakin Toy Company of San Francisco.  He was created in 1968.  I think his clothing might be barkcloth.  I had to comb his hair a bit, and neaten him up, but he was a nice blast from an old girl’s past. 

 

 

DSC04038 (1024x634)

DSC04041 (1024x767)

He is a little rough around the edges, but some toy collector will no doubt love him!  I know seeing him again made me smile!

