When I was a little girl, so my Momma told me, I had really blonde hair.  Some might say I was towheaded.  I have seen the pictures of my little girlhood and in not one of them do I have light blonde hair.  Since the pictures are mostly black and white it looks light gray.  I remember seeing, at one point,scan0002 (925x1024) a cut piece of my hair from my baby book and you guessed it, not light blonde. 

Today my hair is peppered with grey.  Slightly more than peppered to be honest!  Under the pepper is a snatch of mousy blonde hair.  Dark. blonde. hair.  For years I tried to turn the color back to the towhead of my past and bleached, dyed, and peroxided it.  And then I tried to make it curly.  I permed, and permed and permed and colored, and bleached, and bleached…until…

It started to break off.  I always tried to have long hair and for the longest time wore it just above my shoulders in all one length.  Then I gave in to what I knew all along that my hair looks better short.  So several years ago I, after talking my hairdresser down off the “are you insane legde??”  I started the process of shortening it.  It took us a few months to get her to cut it as short as I wanted it.  Then when we arrived at the short place she said,  “Wow, you were right.  It IS better this short!”  And short it has been since. 

It is easy, it is carefree, it dries with a towel rubbing and styles with a few spritzes of spray gel.  My new stylist cuts it with a razor to give it a bit of texture.  Easy, breezy and carefree! 

It is also very thin and fine.  Baby fine, to be precise.  It is not thinning, it has always been this way.  My Mom had the same hair and both she and I learned to live with it.  Others try to give suggestions for how to improve it.  Have you tried layers?  Check.  Tried Rogaine?  Check, and Rogaine only regrows lost hair mine was always this and never list.  My Grandma even suggested that I try mange soap (like for dogs that have mange and lose their hair).  Thanks, Grandma!  That does wonders for your 8 year old Grandaughter’s self esteem.  Amazing that I still remember that almost 39 years later! 

Why did I share all of this?  Who knows?  I think it was because of this thrifted picture I found recently. 

And now for the another…

For the last few weeks I have not been feeling the crafty mojo.  Just kind of going through the motions and trying to make myself create.  As you know, that stifles the creative process considerably.  So, I am taking a bloggy break until the 1st of March. Just to kind of regroup and get myself centered again.  Back on the crafty track, so to speak. 

I have a few things that I need to get working on, some projects I have been puttering around with in my mind and some that are just tiny seeds.  Speaking of seeds…I spent most of last night separating my seed beads into tubes that I bought and man, do I have a lot of those puppies! 

So take care of yourselves, have fun making and creating!  I will be back with you very, very soon!    

