DSC02880 (769x1024) Sherry received a set of goth girl rubber stamps for Christmas and set about playing with some altered dominos.  I saw them and asked her if she would be interested in a 1:1 swap with me. 

She asked me to create a domino for her with the theme of dressmaking for her craft room.  Using the collage image group’s images, I found the appropriate picture.  It reminded me of my Mom teaching me to sew on her old Singer treadle sewing machine.  I would seesaw a metal footplate back and forth and use it to sew clothes for my Barbie. 

The domino was created by first painting it a soft pink color since it would show through.  I then used Mod Podge to layer on the pattern pieces and phrases from the pattern onto the domino and to adhere the front image to the domino. 

I then added the buttons and stickles for the glitter on the front.  To the back I added bits of thread, a vintage sewing label, letters on a string that spell sew and more stickles.  There 

DSC02881 (769x1024)

is an eye threaded into the top of the domino for the hanger.  Ribbon with ric rack glued to it is used for the hanger.  you cannot see it in the picture, but I connected the ribbons with a tiny safety pin. 

DSC02882 (768x1024)

I hope Sherry likes the domino she will receive for my trade.  I think I held fast to her theme and am pleased with the way it came out. 

