On Saturday, after I hit a rummage sale (that was a total waste of time) and the American Sewing Guild’s 2nd Annual craft show (totally worth the time), I happened upon a sign for an estate sale.  Since it was on my way home I thought I would check it out.  I don’t think it was truly an estate sale, but a dealer that brought some items into a house for sale to make it look that way. 

DSC02573 (898x1024)There were far too many jewelry items (10-15 Rubbermaid totes of jewelry alone), some pricier items in cases and way too much stuff for an average person to have.  Lots of the items were in cardboard boxes in the house and it was clear that the furniture that was in there was for staging by the realtor. 

As I was digging through a tote I found this humongous brooch.  It is 4 inches high by 3.5 inches wide.  It is really, really heavy, too and would have to be put on a sturdy blazer or heavy coat.  It is signed on the back Weinberg and dated 1986.  The signature looks like it was put there by hand. 

After using my trusty Google I found two possibilities.  First, Weinberg was a jewelry store in New York that made better costume pieces (mostly known for the beauty and quality of their rhinestone pieces) and went out of business in 1988. 

Secondly, and the one that intrigues me most, is a sculptor named Corinne Weinberg who is known for her flapper work, but I cannot find any reference to her making jewelry.  The signature on the inside is similar to hers on her pottery, but not exact.  I sent an e-mail to a site that she creates for to ask if she might have created it and sent along a pic of the front and back.  I will have to keep you posted.

So thrifting is one part a love of things unique and the other part a little detective work. 

