Originally posted here

Why yes, I can!  Meridien Ariel hosted an owl swap and I was partnered with Sara in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico.  DSC01591 Sara has a 4 year old daughter so I wanted to make a little something for her, too. 

I made Sara an appliqued owl tote bag.  the tote is denim and a thrifted one.  I appliqued the owl onto the pocket on the front.  I love the pink and green colors of the fabric that I used.  I outlined it with pink embroidery floss and added some pink buttons for its eyes. 

For her daughter I made an owl stuffie.  I made it using some blue corduroy fabric, some coordinating fabrics and some yarn covered buttons for its eyes. 

DSC01593 DSC01594

DSC01595

The package was to contain a thrifted item and candy, too.  This is the thrifted item I sent to her.  I found this lovely apron with the cutest border and smocking.  For the candy I sent along a large box of Mike and Ike’s.  A former co-worker got me addicted to Mike and Ike’s.  I love matching up the colors and eating them in pairs. 

Sara mentioned that she cannot get a lot of the neat craft items we can get here so I also added some crafty items.  I added some letters, borders, trims, and some scrapbook papers. 

I am crossing my fingers that it makes it there.  It was still in transit last time I checked.  Sara mentioned that things occasionally “go missing” there.  It has been in transit since the 12th of February! 

