Don’t you love Estate Sales?  I especially love the ones that they want to sell the items, the ones that want to get rid of the stuff!  It is that kind of sale that I hit on Friday in Mechanicsville. 

DSC02179 (1024x732)

They listed it on Craig’s List.  They indicated there were lots of 50’s and 60’s items, that they were moving, that they didn’t want to take it with them, and that it was priced to sell.  I laughed at the last part, priced to sell.  They always say that!  They NEVER mean that!  It is just a way to toy with us, the estate selling public. 

I pulled up to the sale and no one was there!  Nobody. was. there!  That was a bad sign!  Not a car or a buyer in site anywhere.  It was either crap or the prices were too high. 

It was neither.  They had great stuff from the 50’s and 60’s and it was priced to DSC02180 (1024x768) sell.  I picked up this lovely vintage quilt with barkcloth on one side and the loveliest vintage fabric on the other side for $15! 

DSC02181 (1024x768)

It is perfectly worn and lovingly soft.  It is so pretty in person and I love it!  I also picked up some napkins for 25 cents each (yes, Vicki, for you!), a vintage lace dickey ($2), a sweet 1950’s straw hat ($3), a set of scarab cufflinks ($1), a set of owl cufflinks with a tie bar($1), some vintage linens ($3), and two lovely vintage hostess aprons ($2). 

The gentleman at the yard sale was a vintage camera collector and was selling a lot of his collection.  He had about 8 vintage brownie cameras.  I didn’t ask the price, but he did tell me a lot about them and point out all the good things about them.  Never hurts to learn!

So, my advice to you is, keep believing them when they say priced to sell (or move).  Maybe, just maybe, they might really mean it one day!

I also hit a couple of yard sales where I scored a brand new with tags still attached Dooney and Bourke purse for $8 and a brand new, in the original Brighton tin, bracelet for $4.  I also scored a Longaberger basket and a Longaberger cookie mold at my local Goodwill.  The cookie mold is the first one they created in 1994 for the Bunny Series. 

I feel good! 

