DSC02032 (766x1024)

gen·teel adj.

Refined in manner; well-bred and polite.

Free from vulgarity or rudeness.

Elegantly stylish: genteel manners and appearance.

Striving to convey a manner or appearance of refinement and respectability.

Marked by affected and somewhat prudish refinement.

There was a time and place that gentility reigned and people were polite.  They didn’t cut in front of you in lines, they didn’t talk loudly on their cell phones, and they didn’t raise their voices in public. 

People were civil when they disagreed, there was no fists a flyin’, no guns a blazin’.  Only DSC02031 (768x1024)talking out disagreements.  Wouldn’t that have been a great time to be alive? 

I am dismayed that men no longer hold doors for ladies, that people flip each other off with abandon, they beep the horn the nanosecond you car doesn’t move when the light goes green, and they talk loudly about the most intimate parts of their lives in public on cell phones.  It is maddening!

What has happened to our society?  At the expense of gentility we advance?  Society must get more gruff for us to make it through as a society? 

People said thank you, they said excuse me, they respected one another.  Women dressed to go shopping or leave the house.  Men were gentlemen.  Where has it all gone? 

What prompted this reminiscing you ask?  This lot of women’s hankies I picked up at an estate sale.  It reminded me of when I was a little girl and I would put on a dress and my patent Mary Janes to go shopping with my Great Aunts.  When I wore my finest dresses and bonnets to go to Church on Sunday.  It seemed like the world was lovelier then. 

