I have always been a person that valued my sleep.  It didn’t necessarily matter how much I have just that it is consistently the same.  My life has always proceeded at the same pace, too and changes to that are hard for me to make.  If I get too busy, if it changes drastically, if it is not the norm for me it is really hard for me. 

It goes back to when I was little.  My parents told me that as long as they left me alone, didn’t take me out of my little world that I was fine.  The minute they tried to get me ready to go out I screamed bloody murder until they brought me back home.  My Mom later told me that a lot of the time they gave up and just left me home with one of my older brothers or sisters. 

I never grew out of that.  I do like to travel, but it is exhausting for me.  I love talking and meeting new people, but if it is large groups it exhausts me.  I am always “up”, but when I crash I crash hard.  I like to sleep in my own bed and don’t do well out of my little world.

Many of you know that I have been out of work for several months and recently got back to work.  Well, this first week on the job has exhausted me.  I come home dragging and count the hours until I fall asleep.  Not early, mind you, because if I fall asleep before 10 p.m. I wake up a few hours later ready to go.  I try to get to bed by 11 and that works for me.  It has always worked for me.  There is that schedule thing again! 

I used to be a night owl.  Staying up all night and sleeping all day, but as I get older that has changed. 

Isn’t it amazing the patterns our lives get into?  How about you?

