This month’s theme for the Fantastic Flat Paper Doll group on Yahoo is ballet.  I had originally planned to make a paper doll bunny ballet dancer, but changed my mind at the last minute when I recalled the most famous ballet is Swan Lake.  So then the doll took a whole other turn.

DSC01838 (777x1024) DSC01839 (1011x1024)

DSC01841 (667x1024)

The head is a picture of a swan that I colored with an opaque white marker and gel pens.  Her crown is a bit of a Coca-cola can, her bodice for her tutu is made from some pink handmade paper that I colored with an even pinker marker and edged with silver.  Her tutu is made from 2 layers of gathered lace, and her wings were thrifted.  The rest of her body are made from cardstock on which I drew her toe shoes. 

I like the bits and pieces that make this one unique.  That she is parts of a couple species.  Makes her a bit special. 

 

