n.

Definition: dogged perseverance; resolute tenacity

I was born under the sign of Taurus the bull. 

It’s the Bull that serves as the Taurean’s mascot, and along with that comes the expectation that these folks are bull-headed and stubborn. Yes, they are. Hey, this Sign has a Fixed Quality attached to it after all, so expect that things will occasionally grind to a halt. That said, Taureans don’t start out with the intention of getting stuck. They simply want to get things done, and it’s that steady, dogged persistence that winds up being viewed as stubbornness. Bulls are actually among the most practical and reliable members of the Zodiac, and they are happy to plod along, as it were, in pursuit of their goals. The good news for Bulls is that once they get to the finish line, they’ll swaddle themselves in material goods. A self-indulgent beast? Perhaps, but if you toiled as laboriously as these folks do, you’d need some goodies, too.

That means that I cannot help my tenacity.  I stick to it until I get it done.  If it takes all night, it takes all night.  I am not adverse to hard work and will plod along until it is done.  Not a bad thing, is it? 

So you can imagine what I have been feeling while I am unemployed.  I have been going crazy, climbing the walls, trying to invent work, to make stuff “to do.”  It is maddening.  I don’t go to sleep at night feeling like I contributed something to the world.  I wake up each day with nothing in particular to do.  Most days, I only know the day by thinking back to what was on TV the night before.  I feel out of sorts, like a stranger in my world. 

I know that times are tough, but I am a hard worker.  I will most definitely be an asset to my employer.  So why do I sit and wait for the phone to ring.  I work my network, search for jobs, and wait…and wait…and…wait!  The waiting (as the song says) is the hardest part. 

So I am putting my head down and plodding along.  I keep my search going until I receive the prize, a job. 

Is there anyone else that is looking?  How is it going in your search? 

