Before I get to the suckin’ part, I thought I would fill you in on my weekend’s activities.  My friend, Kim, held an open house and silent auction for the Richmond SPCA.  She had lots of great artists, businesses and individuals (like me) that donated items for a silent auction with all the proceeds benefitting the SPCA.  I helped to set up and also to help settle the tabs when they finished. 

The house is a great fixer upper originally built in 1810.  It had a lot of the most awesome wallpaper in all of the rooms.  In one of the rooms we found where the wallpaper had the paperer’s name with the date 1940.  I wanted to rip large pieces of the wallpaper down and take it with me, but Kim wouldn’t let me! 

Kim raised hundreds of dollars for the SPCA Sunday afternoon and I was happy to be a part.  The SPCA brought a canine representative to attend the event.  Josie is part hound and part beagle and was the sweetest doggy.  At the end people were fighting with the SPCA rep in order to adopt her that evening!  It was hard NOT to love her. 

Now on to the suckin’…

DSC01681 This week’s MAMMA theme was basques (corsets) and this was my creation.  I used my crochet twine and my tiniest hook to create the corset and added beads to simulate the bones of the corset.  The skirt is fashioned from a bit of lace that was gathered.  I finished it off with a vintage image, ribbon bits for her straps, gems for her hair.  The background is scrapbook paper that was stamped and inked. 

I also received the card for the Mother’s love swap from Flipp

DSC01684 (729x1024)

 

If you enjoy a good challenge and love to create ATCs consider joining MAMMA.  This week’s theme is Easter and we are using an egg template for the ATC. 

