Dear Postmaster General (or whomever is making the decisions lately),

I understand that you are having some budgetary issues and having a hard time making ends meet.  I also understand that people are mailing less and less and that you are losing money.  However it makes no sense to me that you continue to eliminate the services that we are used to. 

 

Take, for instance, my local post office.  It’s hours were 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.  It was perfect and I could pick up packages that I needed to before work and still be in on time.  At times my commute to work was 40-45 minutes so it worked out perfectly.  Last week I read on the door that you are changing the hours to 8-5.  Come on, that means I either have to get to work way late or wait for the rat race that is Saturday!  How about making the hours convenient for working people?  (I realize right now that is NOT me, but soon I am hoping).  How about 7:30-3:30 daily?  That way we can get there before work.  You could also split up the hours, perhaps 730-2 and them 5-8. 

You are also losing customers to the package delivery services like UPS, FEDEX and others.  No wonder?  They get it!  They moved their services into retail locations so that they could lengthen their hours and make their services more accessible to everyone.  Most of their locations are open 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. DAILY!  That makes it easier to get to.  The price may be a bit more, but I will pay that for the convenience and I am willing to bet a lot of others, too. 

Every other month (it seems) postage is increasing.  Soon it will increase 2 more cents.  Would it not make more sense to increase the hours for the working peeps?  After all is that not what a service industry should do?

Signed,

Cindy

Your Loyal and Slightly Pi##ed Off Constomer

 

I promise next week, back to the regular Friday content.  I just had to vent!

