When I was a little girl I always felt safe.  I knew my Daddy would take care of me and that against him the bad men and the boogie men didn’t stand a chance.  My Daddy was a former Marine that won two purple hearts.  He had been to Korea and the very end of the 2nd World War, he had lost part of his leg by stepping on a land mine, but not his determination, grit or his life.  He spent six months in the military hospital learning how to walk all over again on his artificial leg.  I knew it caused him pain at times, he got nasty sores at times, but he never laid down, never stopped moving, never quit.  With him at my side nothing could ever hurt me.

Sadly, a little girl has to grow up.  She loses her Father and has to learn to take care of herself.  She learns to be strong in the midst of adversity, learns to remember that he never gave up, learns to take his lessons to heart in her daily life.  She learns to jump over hurdles as her Father wouldn’t want it any other way. 

The last few years have been really rough and I wish, at times, that I had my Daddy to take care of me again.  It started in August of 2007 when, after I left a company for another and I was four months into it, they laid me off.  I was out of work for six months and making it on my meager unemployment.  I landed a temporary assignment in February of 2008 and worked at that assignment for about 8 months.  I hoped it would become permanent, but alas it didn’t and in mid-November of 2008 I was back out of work again. 

Enter the current economy and all the bad news we hear almost daily.  Thousands laid off in a day, 10’s of thousands laid off another day.  Worst economic numbers since the depression, stimulus packages, and on and on.  My Daddy knows what that all means and could explain it to me.  He never went to college, but he knew so much.  He would know what to say to me to make it all okay. 

Since this last lay off, I have had one interview and talked with a recruiter on the phone briefly.  I should hear the interview result this week.  It would be a great opportunity, but only part-time.  That is better than nothing at this point.  I did the math and it is what my unemployment pays so I know that I can make it.  Not well, not abundantly, but just make it. 

Thankfully, one thing my Daddy instilled in me was to never live above your means.  I took that to heart and never spent more than I made.  Never lived extravagantly. 

Each night as I say my prayers I ask God to tell my parents hello for me and let them know that I still love them and miss them.  When I get to the place that I miss them greatly I write an entry in my journal and get it all out.  I wish my Dad was still here to chase all the bad thoughts away.  He always made it okay.  If he needed extra help he brought in reinforcements of cake and cookies.  That magic recipe made it all better.  Yes, sugar and a Daddy, what more could a girl want!

