I joined a mixed media artists group on Yahoo.  Through that group and the charm swap I signed up for I found out that Cloth Paper Scissors was having a charm swap also.  If they like your charms they can be featured in the magazine.  That would be cool. 

DSC01556I searched the internet for fabric charm making ideas and stumbled upon this link.  Since I have seen others make lovely things using this technique, I thought I would give it a try. 

I started with a background fabric that is some Japanese kimono fabric.  On top of that I added some metallic yarns and variegated ribbon yarns.  On top of all of that I fused some taupe netting. 

I now have my fabric to make the charms and will begin the cutting and sewing.  Each charm, when finished will be 1″ X 1″. 

It will probably be next week before you see the finished product as it will take some time to finish the edges, add the eyelets and jump rings. 

DSC01554 DSC01555

Have you tried any new techniques lately?

