DSC01443_1024I bought this very plain pinstriped denim blazer at my local Goodwill for $4.99.  I liked it and thought it was in great shape.  After I got it home I thought it was (a lot) blah.  I decided to jazz it up a bit with an applique. 

I used a wind up bird image a while back to embellish a tote bag and since it is one of my favorite images I thought it was perfect for my blazer. 

DSC01456_1024

DSC01455_1024I just love this image and love it on my blazer. 

And while I was at it (the sewing machine, that is) I thought I would shorten another denim jacket I bought years ago on Ebay, but never wore as it was a bit outdated and way too long.  It had long shirt tails on it and I thought it made me look monstrous. 

DSC01462_1024

Since I am not the best with alterations I decided to cut it straight across and to cover the raw edges with bias tape in a dark plum color.  the jacket was already embellished with the Asian influenced panels and beads.  I loved the jacket, but hated the length.  It sat in my closet for 3 years as I didn’t have the heart to part with it. 

Have you modified anything or held onto something you love, but never wear for too long? 

 

