DSC01428 I love a lot about this time of year, but mainly receiving Christmas cards.  The notes inside telling me of the family’s exploits of the past year, the pictures of the kiddies to see how they have grown, that colors, the stamps, the anticipation as I tear into the envelopes…it is so great! 

I also love how they look decorating the back of my door in the wire card wreath that I use to corral them.  I used to mail 40-50 cards per year, but the last 2 holidays I have been unemployed so some things had to be scaled back.  This year I had to scale back again as this is the second holiday season I am looking for a job. 

I couldn’t resist when I saw that Brooklyn Bride was having a card swap.  You make 5/send 5/ get 5 back in return.  I had a lot of fun making the cards for the 5 ladies that I was paired with. 

I used the same image on all of the cards, but switched up the background papers.  Inside the oval is text from a 1923 German book I thrifted a while ago.  The edges are glittered with blue glitter from Martha Stewart’s line.  I used my stickles to add a bit of glitter to the hair bows, the ribbon and bow on the box, and the holly berries in the image.  I finished the card with some holographic paper snowflakes that I punched out with my snowflake punch.  The card backgrounds are thrifted Hallmark blank cards that had some fancy borders.  I used thicker glue dots to add some dimension to the cards. 

DSC01431 DSC01432

The image is from this free collage page.  I received it in the newsletter I get from this site.  It is full of inspiration, images and bloggy eye candy.  Check it out! 

I also made one extra card to send to one of you!  So leave a comment on this post and I will draw on Friday for the lucky winner.  I will mail the card to you on Saturday.  It will have plenty of time to reach you before the holiday and add my wishes to your holiday festivities!  So leave your comment today and tell your friends!  Isn’t the holiday about sharing, too! 

