DSC01339 This week’s MAMMA challenge was Victorian and to create an ATC sized tag.  Victorian, no offense, is not my cup of tea.  I had a hard time coming up with something for this swap. 

 

I decided to use victorian style paper and some song lyrics from a 1900 song about a kittie and a dog.  Since I placed a dog image on the tag, I chose the doggie lyrics.  The dog image was created using some animal stencils that I thrifted a while back.  I inked the edged and added some buttons, lace and yarn to complete the card. 

 

 

 

2948319488_74dfdf5b68

 

 

The second card uses one of the images I found in the 1954 Valentine Ideals magazine I thrifted last week.  I love this child image.  It is so sweet and the colors so subtle.

I circled the image with lace, silk flowers, ribbon roses and tinged it all with some burgundy ink to tone down the white.  There are bits of lace and ribbon tied at the top of the tag. 

 

 

DSC01346

 

I received my swap for the house theme of last week from Nancy.  She created a Zetti house.  I love the colors, the squiggles and the off kilter house.  It is all so lovely. 

 

Thanks, Nancy.  She and I are partners again this week and we shall see if she and I can tie mine and Renee’s record of 4 swaps. 

 

I have really been enjoying the challenges.  Even if I don’t like the theme, I am working to find a way to play and still embrace it.  That way I can let my creative juices flow. 

 

Have you ever participated in a swap, but not “felt” the theme?  How did you get around that?

