I participated in Debra’s Halloween Flight Night swap.  For the swap you had to create a jointed paper doll, and ATC card, and an owl of your choice of medium.   My partner was Amy of Life In the Lyon’s Den.  I hope she liked the swap package.  I know it has arrived, but have not heard from her. 

DSC01312

 

 

First up is the ATC I created.  I love the Wizard of Oz and found this image of the Wicked Witch of the West.  I borrowed the title of Kermit’s book for the text on the card.  I gathered some raffia for the brook and tied it with some string.  A bit of ribbon with the word “yikes” and the background paper is some of Martha Stewart’s Halloween paper from Michaels.

 

 

DSC01314

 

 

 

My next creation is the paper doll that I settled on for Amy. I used this template to create the body.  I then created her clothing using various combinations of scrapbook paper and finished it with a bit of lace and ribbon, some gems and some raffia for her hair.  

 

 

 

 

 

DSC01304 Lastly, my owl item.  I used the image below to cut out the parts of the owl.  I enlarged it to the size I needed.image The owl is cut from felted wool, his branch is made with brown seam binding and yellow buttons make his eyes.  He is resting on a piece of vintage fabric I found at the Goodwill (1970’s I would guess).  I thrifted a messenger bag and he was placed on the bag.  Orange satin stitch completes it. 

I had the hardest time putting this bag in the swap package.  I wanted to keep it for myself.  I have a real sickness love for bags and this one was so very hard to part with.

 

I hope Amy likes her goodies.  I had a lot of fun creating them for her.  Thanks, also, to Debra for a fabulous swap! 

