I remember as a little girl loving the story of Pippi Longstocking.  How she happily paraded around in her long and mismatched socks.  I remember my Mom buying me a pair of striped knee highs so I could be like her.  I so desperately wanted to be Pippi!

I went to Ollie’s after work on Friday and as I was looking through the books I saw her.  The book intrigued me as all of the images have the appearance of being collaged.  It was priced at $6.99 and since it had great images, I bought it. 

I was leafing through and one particular picture caught my eye.  It was a tree made out of strips of print.  It appeared to be thin strips from a book so I thought I would give it a try.  I used my paper cutter to cut the thin strips and then went about layering them to form my tree. 

DSC01206DSC01205Since my canvas was 2.5″ by 3.5″ it was a bit harder to scale it back as I was creating it.  I do believe it was pretty good for a first attempt.  I used my apple punch to put some apples in my tree.  The birds and wings were cut freehand.  I used my marker to draw some legs. 

Next, I thought it might be fun to create a house using the same technique.  It will take a bit more work to perfect it, but I will keep trying.  The smoke coming out of the chimney is from the print on some scrapbook paper.  Perhaps they are leaving smoke signals? 

What has inspired you lately to create?  Is it a bag you saw in a catalog?  A blue sky?  An image on flickr?  What makes you pick up the tools and get started?   

