DSC01123I didn’t set out to save the planet, I just wanted to be “different” and not have the same paper sleeve that everyone at Starbucks had.  I also wanted to know if there were multiple cups which one was mine. 

It took a couple of attempts to perfect it and my template was an opened paper sleeve that I traced.  The inside is dark felt so if the cup drips you won’t get your cozy dirty.  They are easy to make and help the planet, too. 

It is really funny as I used to laugh at the “tree huggers” when I was younger and now I find myself embracing their philosophy.   I guess it is all the stuff that I ate, consumed, drank, chewed on and played with that I now see are toxic.  I have said it a number of times, but it is a miracle that we lived to see adulthood. 

DSC01124 Here are some coffee cup/paper sleeve facts:

The Facts

  • When you purchase one cup of coffee (or tea) in a disposable container every day, you create about 23 lb of waste each year. –Ideal Bite
  • About eighteen percent of garbage we produce is composed of disposable containers, of which hot beverage cups represent a large portion.
  • Styrofoam cups are the worst culprits, as it never degrades. Americans throw away 25,000,000,000 Styrofoam cups every ear. Even 500 years from now, the foam coffee cup you used this morning will be sitting in a landfill somewhere. –The Recycler’s Handbook

Source

DSC01125DSC01127

 

 Miss Sandy awarded me with the Arte Y Pico award.  

This award is “dedicated to many who nourish and enrich the spirit and creativity. They see dedication, creativity, camaraderie, joy, and above all ART, much art. I wish that this prize is entertaining to all those bloggers and to bloggers who day by day share this space and enrich it a little more each day.” Arte Y Pico at http://arteypico.blogspot.com/

Now for the rules:
1) Select 5 blogs that you consider deserving of this award, creativity, design, interesting material, and also contributes to the blogger community, no matter what language.
2) Each award has to have the name of the author and also a link to his or her blog to be visited by everyone.
3) Each award-winner has to show the award and put the name and link to the blog that has given her or him the award itself.
4) The award-winner and the one who has given the prize have to show a link of “Arte y pico” blog, so everyone will know the origin of the award.

So here are my 5 in no particular order. 

  1. Scrappy Jessi.  I met Jessi when she contacted me via Flickr to trade ATCs with her.  Her blog is filled with lots and lots of eye candy and her personality is just as sweet and it comes through with each and every post. 
  2. Karla of Sugar Bear Designs. Karla and I connected over jewelry if I recall or I won a giveaway on her blog, I can’t remember how I got there.  Her blog is filled with lovely pictures, awesome jewelry creations and a bit of life tossed in, too.
  3. Vallen of Queenly Things.  Vallen is the energizer bunny of craftiness.  Her designs are to die for and her enthusiasm is infectious.  Go and check her out and see if you don’t come away whistling a happy tune. 
  4. Mary Ann of A Very Mary. Mary Ann just makes me laugh out loud.  From her Wordy Wednesday posts to her outlook on the world and its inhabitants.  And can she create collages?  She loves ephemera and man, it shows!
  5. Heidi of Everyday Cookies.  Heidi has the greatest life.  She lives near the Oregon coast and recently found a shipwreck on her coast, she has a cabin in the woods only accessible by boat, she has the cutest grandbabies, and oh yes…she is an awesome artist.  Go and check her out and while you are there have a cookie or two!

Remember to enjoy your day!

