DSC01219 This week’s MAMMA challenge was to alter a playing card.  Cards make me think of poker and that made me think of Clint Eastwood’s famous line “Feeling Lucky, Punk?” 

I sanded the face of the card and then used inks to distress it a bit.  Clint’s image was printed in sepia tones to give it a bit of age, too.  The words were torn from off white linen paper and then the edges were inked.  I also added 5 little playing card images to complete the card theme. 

I also as I was getting out my cards came across the Joker card and that made me think of Bernie Mac that we tragically lost recently.  I decided to make a card in his honor.  I sanded the card as well and then inked up the background.  The picture I found didn’t have a hat on it.  I remember Bernie Mac mostly wearing a hat so I sketched one out.  The show me the funny was added to remember his sense of humor.  RIP, Bernie Mac we will miss you!

I received my cards from the Oriental swap with H@ne1 from Finland.  We swapped the card for the swap and one other.  She asked for one of my ATCs for trade, the Marilyn Monroe card and I asked for her garden card in exchange.

DSC01220 DSC01235

DSC01236

 

 

Her please grow card made me laugh.  I have tried my hand at many a topiary and killed many a topiary, too.  I have an extremely green thumb, but cannot for the life of me keep a topiary alive. 

 

Are there any plants that you cannot grow, but not for lack or trying?

 

 

 

Here are the cards that I received from the 5 items swap.  Margaret sent me this card she created for the challenge and the extra Zetti card.  I love the lace and the Victorian feel of the 5 items card.  I love the mod colors on the Zetti card.   Margaret, I love your work.

DSC01240 DSC01241

 

I am still waiting for Jan’s card to arrive.  It must be taking the scenic route! 

 

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

